Bill Charlson's Blog

The Trisha Poem

Posted in Artist Promotion by Bill Charlson on July 21, 2017

I bought you a valentines card, just three days before, but I threw it away on the way over to you. Even today they say, there is “no way”

I thought, it wouldn’t hurt to try, it wouldn’t hurt to dream
you needed someone, and you know my sorry story
I thought, maybe there was a chance that you would see me through this haze that hides over me, that I am strong
but the card that was supposed to shatter the ice, was so heavy in my hand, and I started breathing funny, and it got sweaty

if I could still go find it, and take it out of the trash can, I would dust it off, and buy some chocolates, and take it to you, had I known then how special you are to me now

I think you said you wanted me to say that I love you, so this is how I say it
When I hide my face, when I run the other way, when I stand around looking, and pretending, and can’t find the courage to change, or the words to say, when I walk away, because I see that your happy with someone that is how I say, I love you everyday

Author Notes:

For Trisha Porch, its based on a day in 1998 I believe when I tried to give Trish a Valentines card, but I chickened out

Leave a Reply

